JUST IN: Canada Extends Travel Ban To Nigeria, Others

Canada has included Egypt, Malawi, and Nigeria to the ‘travel ban’ list due to the growing concerns over the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

“We are adding three countries to the list of these countries that we talked about last Friday, these are Malawi, Egypt and Nigeria,” Canadian Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos was quoted as saying by Sputnik news agency.

Duclos said that all travellers coming from outside Canada, apart from the United States, would now be tested at Canadian airports for the novel coronavirus disease, regardless of vaccination status.

This is coming after the World Health Organization on Tuesday called for countries to keep calm and take “rational” measures in response to the new COVID variant, Omicron.

“We call on all member states to take rational, proportional risk-reduction measures,” WHO chief Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said in a briefing to countries, Al Jazeera reports.

Meanwhile, Onyxnewsng gathered that the Omicron was already in the Netherlands when South Africa alerted the WHO about it last week.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: